MCBA‎ > ‎

2019 MCBA

The Massachusetts Children's Book Award is unique because kids get to choose the winner!
Each year an expert panel--teachers, librarians, parents--creates a list of 25 books to compete for the award. 
Kids in grades 4-6 across the state get to vote for their favorite if they read at least five nominees.

The winner of the 2019 Massachusetts Children's Book Award is:

A Night Divided by Jennifer A. Nielsen

The MCBA nominees for the 2018-2019 award were:

  • Anderson, J.D. (2016). Ms. Bixby’s Last Day.
  • Arnold, E. (2017). A Boy Called Bat.
  • Barnett, M. (2015). The Terrible Two.
  • Blabey, A. (2016). The Bad Guys #1.
  • Chad, J. (2016). Science Comics: Volcanoes.
  • Connor, L. (2016). All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook.
  • DiCamillo, K. (2016). Raymie Nightingale.
  • Dinerstein, E. (2016). What Elephants Know.
  • Dumas, F. (2016). It Ain’t so Awful, Falafel.
  • Gannon, N. (2017). The Doldrums.
  • Gidwitz, A. (2016). The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, the Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog.
  • Grimes, N. (2017). One Last Word: Wisdom from the Harlem Renaissance.
  • Hahn, M. D. (2016). Took: A Ghost Story.
  • Hale, N. (2015). The Underground Abductor.
  • Kelly, J. (2015). The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate.
  • Lord, C. (2015). A Handful of Stars.
  • Martin, A.M. (2014). Rain Reign.
  • Nielsen, J.A. (2015). A Night Divided.
  • Pennypacker, S. (2016). Waylon! One Awesome Thing.
  • Ponti, J. (2016). Framed: A T.O.A.S.T. Mystery.
  • Reynolds, J. (2016). Ghost.
  • Rhodes, J.P. (2016). Towers Falling.
  • Shovan, L. (2016). The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary.
  • Tavares, M. (2015). Growing Up Pedro: How the Martinez Brothers Made It from the Dominican Republic All the Way to the Major Leagues.
  • Wolk, L. (2016). Wolf Hollow.

The 2017-2018 winner was The War that Saved My Life, by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley.  (Click here to see the rest of last year's list.)